S. Daukanto a. 3, LT 01122 Vilnius
Tel +370 706 64 154, Fax +370 706 64 145



About the Charlemagne Prize

The origins of the International Charlemagne Prize date back to 1950, when it was suggested by the citizens of the German city of Aachen. In war-devastated Europe, it was a symbolic invitation for European nations to seek solidarity, unity and mutual understanding. Among the recipients of this award are Pope John Paul II, the founding fathers of the European Union Jean Monnet, Konrad Adenauer and Robert Schuman, Great Britain's Prime Minister Winston S. Churchill, U.S. President Bill Clinton, Czech humanist President Vaclav Havel, German Chancellor Angela Merkel, Queen Beatrix of the Netherlands, Prime Minister of Luxembourg Jean-Claude Juncker, and other prominent political figures.


A historical city of Aachen is very important for the history of Germany and the whole of Europe. Having united Frankish and other Germanic tribes in the eighth century, the Roman Emperor Charles the Great (Charlemagne) made Aachen a political center of Europe. The Aachen Cathedral, built by the Charlemagne over a thousand years ago, for many centuries has been the place of coronation of the kings of Germany and emperors of the Holy Roman Empire.

Last updated: 2013-05-08 15:18



Search Engagements



Total: 80410253

Today: 6214

Now: 106

© 2011 Office of the President of the Republic of Lithuania.
S. Daukanto a. 3, LT 01122 Vilnius
Tel +370 706 64 154, fax +370 706 64 145, e-mail:
Legal entity code 188609016
Solution: Fresh media
Please report any bugs or inaccuracies found.